Dwarffortress, This looks FUN!

http://dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2014:Stupid_dwarf_trick

The AI and the aquifer powered water wheels look awesome.

I’ve pulled off:
Aquaduct
Artificial waterfall
Bathtub
Danger room
and Drowning Chamber

1 Like

First line in the link:

A stupid dwarf trick is any project that requires a large amount of time and/or effort

Sounds boring, like another chore! :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

It is worth it when you rig a room to fill with lava to deal with a pesky invasion or troublesome prisoner.

Or maintaining a kennel of undead to unleash on unsuspecting foes at will.

Or my personal favorite of chaining a captured vampire in an obsidian prison which is then dropped into the depths of a lava sea.

1 Like

So I started playing DF again.

One thing lead to another and I now have a miner trapped underground after being mauled by a cave crocodile, attempting to rest/recover so he can make his escape before the slowly advancing pool of lava consumes the area.

I wonder if he will make it… The miner who actually tapped into the volcano in the first place sure didnt.

1 Like

He’s probably wet his pants by now haha XD

If only I could appreciate ASCII graphics…or wanted to make the effort to implement 3D packs :P.

The thing about ascii graphics is this. I have used the 2d tile sets (graphics, because the game is not true ascii they are ascii 2d graphics) and I have used the isometric viewer as well and while they looked good they killed one major aspect of the game, the detail that cannot be captured with our current level of graphics.