Agile for One: Personal Productivity Course

TL;DR: there’s a PluralSight course called “Agile for One” that describes how to be effective in your life, using effective software development and personal productivity techniques.

It’s about two hours long, and I’m halfway through. Please remind me occasionally to update this thread with notes if I forget, eh @Wulf

1 Like

Got it boss.

Are you talking about a paid for course or is there a way to get this course for free?

It’s a paid course. I have a subscription as part of my work. I’m sure you can find free materials on this concept, too; there are lots of systems out there, like Personal Kanban.

Salam guys,

Sorry, I can’t really summarize this. The course covers a case-study of a hypothetical person working on a shopping-list app, and starts from day zero (what do I do?), working through the problems and arriving at the solutions/processes.

Even if all y’all were veteran scrummers and pomodoro pros, this would be challenging to summarize and explain.

TLDR: it’s kanban (focuses on workflow), with a daily planning (focuses work for the week), retrospective (20-minute process improvement), and working in pomodoros (25-minute periods of work with five minutes of rest at the end). Trello is The Man.

1 Like

I feel like this was too much of a cop-out given the interest. InshaAllah I will start posting some notes and you guys can ask reams (and reams, and reams) of questions if you like.

Theek?

1 Like

lol, I had to google what ream meant.

I don’t know if I can come up with that many questions hahahha

I’m pretty sure you will. I’m pretty sure my notes will start with something like:

“Ohai it’s just Kanban with XYZ” and then someone will say “kanban lolwut?” And then while I explain about iterations, story points, etc. someone will say “user story lolwut?” … and so on. THAT will probably require reams of paper.

Prelude: Process